Sunday, July 13, 2008

Electromagnetic induction - Laws

Faraday’s law of electromagnetic induction

Whenever the flux of magnetic field through the area bounded by a closed conducting loop changes, an emf is produced in the loop. The emf is given by

E = -dΦdt

Φ = ∫B.dS is the flux of the magnetic field through the area.

Lenz’s law

The direction of the induced current is such that it opposes the change that has induced it.

No comments: